[Event Story] Grave! Monochrome Easter ~Finale~, Page 2

Until My Seniors Say It’s ‘Good’

Clatter

(Yahiko enters the classroom.)

Takara            Ah, great work-…eh! Nanri-senpai…?

Yahiko           Does Seriya happen to be here yet?

Takara            Ah, no. I’m still the only one here for now…

Yahiko           Dear me, has the cat got your tongue… No, you look like a deer cought in headlights, but I wonder if something’s the matter?

Takara            Ah, uhh, it’s rare for you to come to the classroom where the brasses practice, so I was a little shocked.

Takara            Are you looking for Seriya-senpai? I’ll help you look for him if it’s urgent.

Yahiko           Nay, it isn’t anything especially urgent. Anyway, the flute section isn’t having sectionals today. So allow me to just continue waiting here.

Takara            Understood.

Yahiko           Since you’re here. Won’t you let me hear you continue performing what you were playing just now?

Takara            !

Takara            Um, are you okay with it being my performance…?

Yahiko           Yeah. I want to hear you play, you know.

Takara            I understand…!


♪~~♪~~♪~~~

Takara            (I haven’t had an opportunity to let Nanri-senpai hear me play 1-to-1 before, so this feels kind of strange…)

Takara            (I’ve heard about him from Soshu a lot, but even I can tell as a beginner that his playing is impressive.)

Takara            (Furthermore, Soshu had said that he’s a senior that will guide others with not just his ‘tone’, but with his words and actions as well.)

Takara            (It was the same at ‘Yumemidori’ the other day too, but he really always does dish out ideas that no one else will think of.)

Takara            (I’m a little anxious to perform in front of someone like him…but I’ll do my best to play!)


Takara            —And that’s it! I tried keeping the performance technique I’d heard at ‘Yumemidori’ in mind, but how was it…?

Yahiko           Hm…

Takara            (Nanri-senpai… He’s staring right at me. Was my performance not quite there yet…?)

Yahiko           Kuramoto-kun.

Takara            Y-Yes!

Yahiko           What did you channel into your music just now? What sort of thoughts; what sort of sentiments? I’d like you to tell me.

Takara            Eh?

Yahiko           You appeared to be deep in thought over something while playing, after all.

Takara            You could tell that much just by listening to my sound…!?

Yahiko           The way your melody flowed wasn’t bad, but it was slightly different from your usual tone. I’d like to know what had led to this sound.

Takara            (But even if I’m told…to share what had led to it…I wonder if I really ought to talk about what I was thinking while playing…?)

Takara            Let’s see… Actually, I was thinking about you.

Yahiko           About me?

Takara            Yes. I was thinking about your playing, your creativity, and how impressive it all is…

Takara            You came up with one suggestion after another after we decided we’d hold ‘Monochrome Easter’, didn’t you.

Takara            When I heard you talk about everything then, it’d made me feel like giving it a try, too.

Takara            Furthermore, I don’t really have the opportunity to let you hear my own playing, so I was rather happy.

Yahiko           ……

Takara            I still can’t put the shortcomings of my playing into words well…but I’ve been playing by feel, haven’t I.

Takara            So if there’s anything that concerns you about my performance, I’d like you to tell me about it all.

Takara            ‘Cause I’ll keep working hard, until I can do it!

Yahiko           Heh… Hahahahahah!

Takara            ?

Yahiko           Your efforts and struggles in accommodating to a new situation, and your drive in changing that over and over again—

Yahiko           Chameleon-kun. I’m getting increasingly interested in you.

Yahiko           (I’d believed you were optimistic and selfless, but there is a greed to you contrary to my expectations. Desire is one of the important factors that represent human beings.)

Yahiko           (It is also deeply intriguing how you have yet another sort of frankness to you compared to Suzushiro-kun and Kaneko-kun, and how you display it without hesitation.)

Yahiko           (You were like that as well, back then.)



Yahiko           (—This time, I shall appreciate the future that you’re aiming for, from my first-class seat.)

To be continued…

~ Next: Page 3 ~

WHAT’S ‘FUN’ WHAT’S ‘INTERESTING’.

PREVIEW
Takara: It’s Easter, so…are we going to become bunnies?
Yahiko: Heh, it’ll be fun seeing you become a rabbit.

~ Previous: Page 1 ~

Leave a comment