[Event Story] Grave! Monochrome Easter ~Overture~, Page 4

As if Caught Up in a Storm

After class at the start of the week, Ryotaro frets on his own as the preparations proceed smoothly—

(Ryotaro is in the music room.)

Ryotaro         (We’ve started to practice for the Easter events, and there’s no concern about our playing of ‘Moonlight Serenade’. However…)

Ryotaro         (The problem lies in the contest, doesn’t it…)

Ryotaro         (A performance to decide on the Rabbit King… I did give it some thought, but I can’t grasp an image of it at all…)

Ryotaro         (I think I have a pretty good idea about what the objective of the contest is, but how should I incorporate it into my performance—)

(Daisuke approaches him.)

Daisuke         Heya, Ryotaro-kun, great work! Are the others not here yet?

Ryotaro         Yeah, I’m still the only one. You…look rather happy, but did something happen?

Daisuke         Hahah, you can tell?

Daisuke         Actually, I’ve received a very wonderful present this morning, you see. Behold!

Flip

Ryotaro         Is that…a drawing of Winbo-kun?

Daisuke         Kojiro designed a Winbo-kun that fit the image of a Monochrome Easter, you know.

Ryotaro         Haha, how impressive. It’s really well done.

Daisuke         You agree as well, Ryotaro-kun!? Kojiro truly is a genius, you know…! No, a child of god…!?

Ryotaro         Kojiro must also be greatly satisfied, if you’re that pleased with it.

Ryotaro         …Oh right, how about we turn this Winbo-kun into a plushie?

Daisuke         Into a plushie…?

Ryotaro         It’s well-designed, so I’m thinking it could take on the role of an image character for our Monochrome Easter event.

Ryotaro         And I’m sure that Kojiro will be pleased as well, if his illustrated design was turned into a plushie.

Daisuke         …Indeed! That’s a really good idea, Ryotaro-kun!

Ryotaro         Glad to hear that. If that’s the case, I’ll go check if Seri or Kannoto can make it for us.

Daisuke         (…Ryotaro-kun is always considerate of my feelings, and backs me up on a variety of things.)

Daisuke         (He helped me out a lot in the preparations of our Monochrome Event this time as well. He’s a wonderful senior.)

Daisuke         That’s right, Ryotaro-kun. You appeared to be deep in thought just now, but…

Ryotaro         …!

Daisuke         Do let me know anytime, if there’s anything that I can be of help with. You’re a precious concert band friend of mine, after all.

Ryotaro         …I wonder how many times people have reached out to me like that. You observe the people around you well and care for them too, I see.

Ryotaro         Thanks, Maruyama. Apologies for causing you to worry, even though I’m your senior.

Daisuke         That’s my line! Your meticulous considerations and concerns have helped me out countless times, you know. 

Daisuke         I feel inexplicably reassured, whenever I’m with you. Fufu, you may laugh at me for saying this, but…

Daisuke         There are times where I find myself wishing I had a ‘big brother’ like you, Ryotaro-kun.

Ryotaro         …!

Ryotaro         Hahah, so I’m the ‘big brother’ this time huh. I’m the youngest in my family, so that’s kind of strange to hear.

(He recalls Daisuke’s words.)



Ryotaro         (Maruyama always speaks so frankly and optimistically.)

Ryotaro         (It’s not simple to encourage people, but…every single thing he tells me resonates with my heart.)

Ryotaro         (That’s because I know he’s genuinely thinking about me.)

Ryotaro         (I’ll have to return those sentiments of his, haven’t I—)

Ryotaro         Actually, I’ve been worrying about what to do for the Rabbit King Contest’s performance. May I ask you for some advice?

Daisuke         Yeah, but of course!

Daisuke         I’ve actually been watching RAIZU-kun’s videos and studying up on the way he carries himself, you know.

Daisuke         So I may be able to offer some good advice. Let’s think about it together!

Ryotaro         Yeah, thank you.


Ryotaro is practicing performing as the Rabbit King with RAIZU’s performance as a reference, but—

Ryotaro         —“Perish, in the depths of darkness…!”

Ryotaro         I-Is that alright…?

Daisuke         Brilliant! That was wonderful, Ryotaro-kun! It was in the manner of an emperor of darkness burdened with a heavy past, wasn’t it.

Ryotaro         Really…? But it’ll be so embarrassing to do something like this onstage…

Daisuke         Really? Let’s think of another strategy if that’s the case then.

Ryotaro         Sorry, although you’d gone to the lengths of suggesting that for me.

Daisuke         Fufu, it’s fine. There’s no meaning in the performance if we don’t draw out your charms after all.

Ryotaro         …I see. Thanks.

Daisuke         Please don’t worry about it. I’m happy that I get to think about it together with you like this, after all.

Daisuke         Oh right! Let’s try finding out about your charms from someone who understands you better!

Daisuke         Someone like Seriya-kun would be fit for that, I suppose… Alright I’m off to ask!

(He runs off.)

Taptaptap…

Ryotaro         Maruyama takes action right away once an idea hits him, as always… It’s as if I’m caught up in a storm, whenever I’m with him.

Ryotaro         Nonetheless, something like that isn’t bad every now and then. Perhaps I’ll try leaving things to him this time.

To be continued…

~ Next: Page 5 ~

PERFECTLY IN TUNE.

PREVIEW
Izuru: It’s like…they’re perfectly in tune, aren’t they…
Mashu: Their bonds strengthened before I knew it!

~ Previous: Page 3 ~

Leave a comment