[Main Story] Chapter 3: SUNNY DAY, Page 7

God Knows What Will Happen

Kojiro        Hello thereeeeeeeee!!

Everyone       !?!?

Kuri                Are you an idiot!? Don’t you feel embarrassed…!

Soshu            …Ack! Tobaya Kuri! Why on earth are you here…!?

Kuri                Rest assured. It’s not as if I’ve come to meet you.

Mashu                 Who’s that?

Yasuhito        That’s Tobaya, the president of Chosoku Middle School Concert Band. You don’t know him?

Mashu           Ahhh! I know of Chosoku Middle!

Mashu           They always qualify for the Hokuriku preliminaries, don’t they!? Didn’t they make it to the Nationals too, if I recall?

Yasuhito        They did.

Mashu           Wehhh~…

Sensei            Have you two come here to observe, by any chance?

Kuri                No, that’s wrong—

Kojiro             I’ll be joining the concert band! And Kuri-kun, too!

Kuri                Huhh!?

Kojiro             Here, didn’t you say that you’d join the band in good cheer too, Kuri-kun?

Kuri                I didn’t!! How on earth did you reach that conclusion from that! Don’t just say things however you please.

Kojiro             It isn’t however I please, you know! Even you want to join, right?

Kuri                When and where did I say that, exactly.

Kojiro             It may be true that you didn’t put it into words, but we’re friends after all, so I can tell!

Kuri                ……

Soshu            He’s got that Tobaya Kuri dancing around like a puppet on strings.

Osei               For reals, this is the first time I’ve seen such a Tobaya Kuri like that.

Kojiro             You’ve even brought your instrument here today properly, right. I know that, you know!

Kuri                No, that doesn’t really mean that…

Sensei            Um… How about you just observe things, if you don’t mind?

Sensei            We’re just about to begin our practice, so if you’ve got the slightest bit of interest in the band, I’d be happy if you’d—

(Kojiro whips out a sheet of paper.)

Kojiro             I want to participate in practice, too! I’ve already filled in my application form, so…! There!

Kojiro             Please take care of me, Sensei!

(He offers Sensei a high-touch.)

Sensei            Thank you very much…! I’ll be counting on you from now.

Kojiro             Uh-huh!

Kojiro             Ah, uhh, I look forward to working with everyone too. I’m Maruyama Kojiro, from Class 1-B!

Class 1-B: Maruyama Kojiro

Kojiro             Give them your greetings too, Kuri-kun?

Kuri                …… Name’s Tobaya. Tobaya Kuri from Class 1-B.

Sensei            Um, you’ve brought your instrument, right? Why don’t you play with us as well, if you like?

Kuri                …Understoo—

(Soshu rushes up to him.)

Soshu            My oh my, Tobaya-kun. If I recall, you’d made light of my invitation, saying that you won’t play along with our games, had you not.

Kuri                Ha…!

Kuri                I can’t disregard the ex-President of Kisoku High after he’s kowtowed before me, can I. That’s why I’ve come here.

Soshu            What exactly are you trying to say.

Kuri                You—

Seriya            What are those two doing.

Takara            They seem to be great friends, right.

Seriya            …Hey Takara, aren’t you often labelled as being naïve by others?

Takara            Eh?

(Osei gets between them.)

Osei               Okay okay~, stop right there!

Osei               I’m so sorry~, our boy here was really really conscious of Chosoku Middle, so.

Kuri                ……

Osei               You too, Soshu, you’d be happy if we’ve got more members, right? Furthermore, you’re the one who knows best that Tobaya’s good, to boot.

Osei               Right?

Soshu            ……

Kuri                Well, that’s fine…

Kuri                I’ll take you all to the Nationals— I shall join the band for you.

Everyone       …!!

Kuri                You’re fine with that right, Sensei.

Sensei            Y-Yes. But of course.

Kuri                Now that I’m joining the band, I shall make things clear, while I’m at it.

Kuri                I was truly disappointed when I’d heard that you were the advisor, seeing how you’re inexperienced in guiding concert bands.

Junta              ……Huh?

Osei               Whoawhoawhoa, calm down Junta-senpai!

Kuri                The previous advisor Masuda-sensei was famous for his guidance. I, too, had applied for Ibuki in the hopes of being under his wing.

Sensei            ……

Kuri                However, when I had heard your performance ‘by chance’ at the shopping street, I must say…I was surprised.

Kuri                While the members were few and lacking in experience, that performance…had stopped passers-by in their tracks, indeed.

Kuri                …With that said, Sensei. I have decided to try and trust in your abilities to guide us.

Sensei            …Y-Yes!

Sensei            (He’s serious. Towards the concert band…)

Junta              That guy…acting like he’s all high and mighty.

Seriya            He’s honest the way he is, and serious the way he is, you know. It’s just that…there’s an issue with how he phrases things.

Yasuhito        I agree with that.

Soshu            What, you were so curious that you’d come to hear our performance at the event, huh.

Kuri                I told you that it was a coincidence, didn’t I.

Soshu            Hmph…! Haven’t you noticed things a little too late, Tobaya Kuri.

Soshu            I’d noticed Sensei’s potential, trusted them, and decided to go along with them, long before you did.

Kuri                Hah, don’t make me laugh. You’re glib as always, aren’t you, Kaneko-kun.

Soshu            I don’t want to hear that from the Tobaya-kun who speaks so impudently.

Kuri                Hah…

Soshu・Kuri            Hahahahahahaha!!

Minato           Oi, Osei. Soshu’s gone mad.

Osei               Don’t worry. He’s like that in front of that guy.

Osei               Heey Soshu, your glasses’re gonna crack from that glare of yourss.

Kojiro             Kuri-kun too, I don’t really get it but calm down. Let’s all get along?

Soshu・Kuri            Hmph…!

Sogaku          It’s probably going to get even more lively with all the sparks and crackles, isn’t it~.

Hibiku            He’s a trumpeter too you know, Minoike-senpai.

Junta              Huh? That sucks…

Yasuhito        Only God knows what will happen, I suppose.

Sogaku          It’ll be okay. I’m sure that a miracle will.

To be continued…

~ Next: Chapter 3, Page 8 ~

MY GOAL.

PREVIEW
Kuri: I don’t have any intentions to participate in club activities with half-baked feelings.
Soshu: ……

~ Previous: Chapter 3, Page 6 ~

Leave a comment